Asian Games - Three motorbike communities to escort torch relay

Asian Games - Three motorbike communities to escort torch relay

Acting West Java Govenor M Iriawan carries the Asian Games torch during the Asian Games Relay procession at the governor office, West Java, on Sunday (Aug 12). (ANTARA Photo/M Agung Rajasa/foc)

Jakarta (ANTARA News) - Three motorbike communities are expected to escort the flame torch relay of the 2018 Asian Games in West Jakarta on Thursday, an official said.

"The three motorbike communities include Vespa, big motorbike (moge), and the trailer that would carry out the Asian Games torch relay starting from the National Monument (Monas) area," the West Jakarta deputy mayor, M. Zen, stated, while chairing the last meeting relating to the Asian Games torch relay here, on Monday.

The three participating motorbike communities that would accompany the Asian Games torch relay comprises of 15 trailers, 20 big motorbikes, and 20 Vespa motors, he noted.

Meanwhile, the flame torch relay in West Jakarta will leave Monas area heading to the Tanah Sereal, then to Jalan Merdeka Barat, Jalan Tali, Jalan S. Parman, Jalan Kyai Tapa, Jalan KH Moh. Mansyur, and Jalan Gajah Mada.

In addition, the Vespa community will accompany the flame torch relay to the Kalijodo Friendly Open Public Space, he remarked.

M. Zen also explained that the motor community will run first with the voorijder escort of the Jakarta Provincial Government Transportation Agency.

Many people, including students, will be deployed along the torch relay, he explained, adding that the torch relay activity is expected to reach the Kota Tua (old city) before proceeding to North Jakarta.

The 18th Asian Games will be held in Jakarta and South Sumatra Provincial city of Palembang from Aug 18 to Sept 2, 2018.

The torch relay, starting from July 15 to August 18 this year, travels about 18 thousand kilometers from the Major Dhyan Chand Stadium, New Delhi, India, to 18 provinces and 64 cities in Indonesia.

In Indonesia, the torch relay began in Yogyakarta on July 17 and will end in Jakarta on Aug 17, a day before the Asian Games 2018 would be officially opened by President Joko Widodo.

The torch`s route includes Solo, Central Java Province; Blitar, Malang, Probolinggo, and Banyuwangi in East Java; Gilimanuk, Kuta, and Denpasar in Bali Province; Mataram in West Nusa Tenggara; Raja Ampat and Sorong in West Papua; Makassar in South Sulawesi; Banjarmasin in South Kalimantan; Banda Aceh in Aceh Province; Lake Toba in North Sumatra; Pekanbaru in Riau; Bukit Tinggi in West Sumatra; Jambi, Palembang, Banyuasin, and Prabumulih in South Sumatra; Bandar Lampung in Lampung; Serang in Banten; and Purwakarta, Bandung, Garut, Cianjur, and Bogor in West Java.

Reporting by Devi Nindy
Editing by Bustanuddin