Jayapura (ANTARA) - Coordinating Political, Legal, and Security Affairs Minister Marshal Hadi Tjahjanto stated that TNI-Polri's ready the main defense system deployment to secure delivery of logistics for the 2024 regional elections to various regions in Papua.

"The TNI-Polri's defense equipment is ready to be deployed to secure the election logistics delivery in Papua," he stated after a briefing with TNI-Polri personnel ahead of the 2024 regional elections in Papua on Thursday.

According to Tjahjanto, defense equipment belonging to the Indonesian Defense Forces (TNI) and National Police (Polri) is currently under the control of the Joint Regional Defense Command (Kogabwilhan) III and the Eastern Fleet.

"All defense equipment can be deployed to support logistics deliveries, especially to areas that are difficult to reach," the minister remarked.

Citing data from the 2024 Election Vulnerability Index (IKP), the minister drew attention to two areas with vulnerable security status in Papua, namely Central Papua and Papua Highland, while other areas are considered to have medium security status.

"Areas where violent acts from the Free Papua Movement (OPM) often occur include Puncak District, Yakuhimo District, Paniai District, Bintang Mountains District, Nduga District, Intan Jaya District, and Maybrat District," he remarked.

Related news: Home Ministry pushes regions to finalize local elections' preparations

He stated that the weather in several areas, especially in the Papua Highland and Central Papua provinces, is different from other areas, as it is only sunny for a few hours.

"Apart from weather factors that often change, in certain areas, only small-bodied aircraft and helicopters can land," Tjahjanto added.

Earlier, during a briefing at a coordination meeting to prepare for the 2024 regional elections in six provinces in Papua on Wednesday (May 29), the minister invited all parties to collaborate in order to ensure the security of the regional elections.

"Apart from synergy, ASN (civil servants) and TNI-Polri must also be neutral for the sake of the election's safety," he emphasized.

Papua currently consists of six provinces, namely Papua, West Papua, Southwest Papua, Papua Highland, Central Papua, and South Papua.

Related news: Regional governments asked to help election logistics distribution

Translator: Evarukdijati, Resinta Sulistiyandari
Editor: Yuni Arisandy Sinaga
Copyright © ANTARA 2024