Jakarta (ANTARA) - The Indonesian General Election Commission (KPU) will conduct a national recapitulation of two provinces on Thursday (May 16), namely West Java and South Sulawesi.

KPU Chairman Arief Budiman said that only two provinces that are ready to undergo national level recapitulation on Thursday.

"West Java is ready for us to recapitulate tomorrow, and South Sulawesi is likely to arrive in the afternoon," Arief said at the KPU Building on Wednesday (May 5) night.

He said the recapitulation of West Java would begin at 10:00 WIB, and was expected to be completed in the afternoon due to the large number of voters in the province.

He said because there were only two provinces that would be recapitulated, the KPU would only make a panel of plenary meetings in the main courtroom of the KPU Building.

The recapitulation of South Sulawesi today is still waiting whether it is possible to continue after the recapitulation of West Java.

As from Friday (May 11) to Wednesday (May15) night, the KPU has completed a national recapitulation for 26 provinces out of a total of 34 provinces.

Announcement of the winner of the election will be held on May 22, 2019.

Translator: Eliswan Azly
Editor: Bambang Purwanto
Copyright © ANTARA 2019