The award shows the government's concern for (the implementation of) energy-based building management.
Jakarta (ANTARA) - Indonesia clinched 10 awards in several categories at the 2022 ASEAN Energy Awards (AEA), which were announced virtually as part of the 40th ASEAN Ministers on Energy Meeting (AMEM) and ASEAN Energy Business Forum activities.

The meeting and forum were held in Cambodia on Thursday .

"Congratulations to all the winners for their outstanding achievements this year. Keep up the good work," Energy and Mineral Resources (ESDM) Minister Arifin Tasrif remarked, according to information posted on the ESDM Ministry’s website here on Friday.

The achievements are proof of Indonesia's commitment to implementing energy efficiency and conservation to meet its emission reduction targets, he said.

Related news: Use of geothermal energy can boost people's economy: ministry

"The ASEAN Energy Award is an attempt to recognize the participation of various sectors in realizing regional energy development," he remarked.

Head of the Communication, Public Information Services, and Cooperation Bureau of the ministry, Agung Pribadi, informed that the building of the ministry’s Downstream Oil and Gas Industry Regulatory Agency (BPH Migas) won the award for energy management in buildings and industries.

"The award shows the government's concern for (the implementation of) energy-based building management," the bureau head added.

He said he expected the achievement to encourage the implementation of energy-based building management in the other buildings belonging to the ESDM Ministry.

Indonesia sent 13 entries for the 2022 AEA. They won the 2021 Subroto Awards on Energy Efficiency held by the Directorate of Energy Conservation at the ESDM Ministry.

Related news: New, renewable energy power plants' installed capacity reaches 12 GW

The agencies responsible for the participating entries received intensive assistance from the ministry’s technical team to prepare for the international awards.

In addition to the ministry’s BPH Migas Building, three other entries from Indonesia won in their respective categories, including the West Java 2 Pelabuhan Ratu Operation and Maintenance Services Unit (OMU) of PT Indonesia Power, a subsidiary of state-run electricity provider PT PLN (Persero).

Meanwhile, two private business complexes in Banten province won second place in their respective categories.

Furthermore, four entries from Indonesia placed third in their respective categories, including state-owned telecommunication company PT Telkom Indonesia’s (Telkom’s) Telkom Landmark Tower 2 and the Graha Telkom Property building.

PT Solusi Bangun Indonesia, a subsidiary of state-run cement manufacturer PT Semen Indonesia (Persero) also placed third in its category.

AEA is an annual award that has been organized by the ASEAN Center for Energy (ACE) since 2000 to promote new and renewable energy as well as energy conservation.

Related news: Reducing greenhouse gas emissions through renewable energy development

Related news: Renewable energy development key for tamping down emissions: minister

Translator: Kelik Dewanto, Uyu Liman
Editor: Fardah Assegaf
Copyright © ANTARA 2022