Jakarta (ANTARA News) - Indonesias contingent to the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro has departed from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport on Wednesday.

A farewell ceremony for the contingent was held on Wednesday at the Indonesia Olympic Committee Office (IOC) in FX Senayan Building, led by the Chef de Mission Raja Sapta Oktohari.

Deputy Chair of IOC Muddai Madang and the ministrys deputy of Sports Development Gatot S. Dewabroto bid farewell to the athletes at the symbolic ceremony.

As many as 28 Indonesian athletes will be participating in the 2016 Olympic Games. Among athletes who departed today were players competing in badminton, archery and athletics.

Meanwhile, other players in the disciplines of weightlifting, rowing and BMX race had left the country earlier for some overseas training camps.

Seven national weightlifters are currently in a training camp in Cape Town, South Africa, while the rowing squad is training in the Netherlands.

Meanwhile, Toni Syarifuddin, a national BMX rider, is in the United States of America for training.

Two national swimmers qualified for the Olympics after being granted a wildcard invitation. Earlier, they had failed in the qualification rounds.

"The swimming athletes will depart for Brazil on August 3," Oktohari said.

The national badminton athletes will go to a training camp in Sao Paolo before competing on the D-day.

Following is the list of Indonesias contingent to the 2016 Olympic Games in Brazil:

Men single: Tommy Sugiarto
Men double: Hendra Setiawan/Mohammad Ahsan
Women Single: Lindaweni Fanetri
Women double: Nitya Krishinda Maheswari /Greysia Polii
Mixed double: Tontowi Ahmad/Liliyana Natsir - Praveen Jordan/Debby Susanto

Women long jump: Maria Nathalia Londa
100m dash: Sudirman Hadi

Men recurve: Riau Ega Agatha
Women recurve: Ika Yuliana
Men team recurve: Muhammad Hanif Wijaya, Hendra Purnama

Men M 1X : Memo
Women W 1X: Dewi Yuliawati

Surohmad (56kg)
EKo Yuli Irawan (62kg)
M Hasbi (62kg)
I Ketut Ariana (69kg)
Triyatno (69kg)
Sri Wahyuni (48kg)
Dewi Safitri (53kg)

Toni Syarifudin

Glenn Victor
Yessy Yosaputra. (*)

Editor: Heru Purwanto
Copyright © ANTARA 2016