Probolinggo, East Java (ANTARA) - Falling ash covered nine sub-districts on the slopes of erupting Mount Semeru in Probolinggo District, East Java Province, on Saturday evening.

"Mount Semeru erupted on Saturday at 17:24 WIB (Western Indonesia Time), spewing volcanic ash rain in several areas of Probolinggo District, at between 17:40 WIB - 21.08 WIB," Anggit Hermanuad, Head of the Probolinggo Disaster Mitigation Agency (BPBD) said on the phone, here on Sunday.

The nine sub-districts affected by the volcanic ash were Kuripan, Bantaran, Leces, Tegalsiwalan, Dringu, Banyuanyar, Sumberasih, Wonomerto, and Sumber, he said.

Mount Semeru volcanic ash also blanketed 18 villages in the sub-districts of Candipuro, Pasrujambe, Senduro, Gucialit and Pasirian in Lumajang District, East Java.

Mount Semeru located in Lumajang District, erupted again and spewed hot clouds of avalanches with a sliding distance of 4 kilometers towards Besuk Kobokan on Saturday (16/1) at 17:24 WIB.

Related news: BNPB urges villagers residing near Mt Semeru to exercise vigil

In addition, lava avalanche activity was also observed with a sliding distance of between 500 - 1000 meters from Jongring Seloko Crater towards Besuk Kobokan.

The Center for Volcanology and Geological Disaster Mitigation (PVMBG) has declared an alert status of the active volcano. On Dec 1, 2020, hot ash tumbled as far as 3,000 metres down the slopes of Mount Semeru, triggering panic among villagers.

The 3,676-metre mountain in Lumajang District is the highest volcano on Indonesia’s most densely populated island of Java.

Related news: Residents start seeking refuge to avoid Mt Semeru's lava flows

Translator: Zumrotun S, Fardah
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2021