Labuan Bajo, East Nusa Tenggar (ANTARA) - Members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) support Indonesia's efforts to continue dialogue with various stakeholders in Myanmar.

The support was conveyed on Wednesday through a joint statement by ASEAN leaders that attended the 42nd ASEAN Summit in Labuan Bajo, East Nusa Tenggara (NTT).

Through the statement, member countries also support the statement of President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) in responding to the recent attacks experienced by the ASEAN Coordination Centre for Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Management (AHA Centre) and the ASEAN monitoring team in Myanmar.

"We support the efforts of the ASEAN Chairs, including Indonesia's efforts in continuing the engagement of stakeholders in Myanmar, and encouraging progress on the implementation of the Five-Point Consensus," the statement noted.

The ASEAN leaders also expressed their concern over the ongoing violence in Myanmar.

They urge all forms of violence and the deployment of troops to stop immediately, so that a national dialogue involving all parties can be created and the delivery of humanitarian aid can be carried out safely and on time.

President Jokowi, on Monday (May 8), again called for an end to the violence in Myanmar ahead of the 42nd ASEAN Summit in Labuan Bajo.

Jokowi affirmed that the attacks against the AHA Centre and the ASEAN monitoring team will not dampen the determination of Indonesia and the ASEAN to continue to call for an end to the violence in Myanmar.

The security situation in Myanmar has worsened since the military overthrew the elected government, led by the Nobel Peace Prize laureate Aung San Suu Kyi, in a coup in February 2021.

The ASEAN has urged the junta to implement the Five-Point Consensus peace plan agreed upon in April 2021 that calls to stop the violence, hold dialogue with all stakeholders, and permit the provision of humanitarian assistance to the people of Myanmar.

Minister of Foreign Affairs of Indonesia Retno Marsudi stated on Tuesday (May 9) that implementation of the Five-Point Consensus had been discussed with the ASEAN Foreign Ministers ahead of the 42nd ASEAN Summit in Labuan Bajo.

As the ASEAN chair this year, Indonesia chose to conduct quiet diplomacy in resolving the Myanmar crisis. Marsudi said the step was taken to provide space for the parties to build trust and open communication.

ASEAN, which was founded on August 8, 1967, in Bangkok, currently consists of 10 countries: Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, the Philippines, Thailand, Brunei Darussalam, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar, and Vietnam.

ASEAN is currently preparing a road map for Timor-Leste to become the 11th full member of the regional organization.

Related news: Indonesian President again stresses ending Myanmar violence
Related news: Indonesia to raise talks on human trafficking at ASEAN Summit
Related news: ASEAN must move beyond Five-Point Consensus in Myanmar: rights bodies

Translator: Shofi Ayudiana, Cindy Frishanti Octavia
Editor: Sri Haryati
Copyright © ANTARA 2023