Jakarta (ANTARA) - The General Elections Commission (KPU) has assigned serial numbers to the three presidential-vice presidential candidate pairs in the fray for the 2024 election, based on a draw held at the KPU office in Jakarta on Tuesday evening.

"The official numbers for the presidential-vice presidential candidate pairs for the 2024 elections are as follows: number one for the candidate pair Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar, number two for the candidate pair Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka, and number three for the candidate pair Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD," chairperson of the KPU, Hasyim Asy'ari, informed.

The determination of the official number was carried out at the KPU's open plenary meeting.

For Subianto, the result of the draw was the same as in the 2019 election, when he ran for president with Sandiaga Salahuddin Uno as his pair.

The official numbers will be used by each candidate pair during the campaign until voting day on February 14, 2024.

The official number draw was led by Asy’ari, who was accompanied by other KPU members.

During the draw, the three presidential and vice presidential candidate pairs were accompanied by general chairs and members of the elite political parties supporting them.

On November 13, the KPU announced the names of the three pairs of presidential and vice presidential candidates participating in the 2024 elections. Baswedan-Iskandar have the support of the NasDem Party, the National Awakening Party (PKB), the Prosperous Justice Party (PKS), and the Ummat Party.

Pranowo-Mahfud are backed by the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDIP), the United Development Party (PPP), the United Indonesia Party (Perindo), and the People's Conscience Party (Hanura).

Meanwhile, Subianto-Raka have gained the support of the Great Indonesia Movement Party (Gerindra), the Golongan Karya Party (Golkar), the National Mandate Party (PAN), the Democratic Party, the Crescent Star Party (PBB), the Indonesian People's Wave Party (Gelora), Garuda Party, and the Indonesian Solidarity Party (PSI), as well as the Prima Party, which did not qualify to participate in next year's election.

Translator: Narda Margaretha S, Resinta Sulistiyandari
Editor: Arie Novarina
Copyright © ANTARA 2023