President praises joint website of seven ASEAN bourses

Jakarta (ANTARA News) - President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono has praised the launching of a joint website involving seven stock exchange in ASEAN member countries.

"This is aimed at enhancing blue-chip equity in our regional for global investors," the head of state said here, Saturday, in his opening speech at the 18th ASEAN Summit being held at the Jakarta Convention Hall, May 7-8, 2011.

He said that the joint website was the first step towards markets connectivity in ASEAN.

"At the same time, soon we will fully implement credit guarantee and investment facilities at the amount of US$700 million," he said.

The finance ministers of the ASEAN member countries have also joint hands to attain ASEAN Infrastructure Fund in order to support infrastructure development in the region, he explained.

However, ASEAN first must make sure that the Master Plan on ASEAN Connectivity can be implemented effectively, the president added.

For that purpose, Indonesia is in the process of finishing the Master Plan for Acceleration and Expanded Economic Growth of Indonesia (MP3EI), in order to boost the development of six economic corridors in Indonesia.

"I believe that what Indonesia is planning to do will boost the national economy and intra-Indonesian connectivity, as well as promote ASEAN`s economy and speed up the construction of ASEAN connectivity," he stated.

To improve the living standard and welfare of the region`s peoples, ASEAN must further develop intra-ASEAN trade, investment and tourism, the president said.

"And we have to further enhance our cooperation with ASEAN dialogue partners for better benefits," the President, concurrently the ASEAN Chair 2011, stated.

The 18th ASEAN Summit is being participated in by Sultan of Brunei Darussalam Hassanal Bolkiah Mu`izzaddin Waddaulah, Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen, Lao Prime Minister Thongsing Thammavong, Malaysian Prime Minister Dato` Sri Mohd Najib bin Tun Abdul Razak, Myanmar Prime Minister Thein Sein, President of the Philippines Benigno S. Aquino III, Senior Minister of Singapore S. Jayakumar representing Singaporean Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Thai Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva, and Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung. (*)

(F001/HAJM/f001 )