Persija, Persipura share 1-1 score at ISC Tournament

Persija, Persipura share 1-1 score at ISC Tournament

Persipura Jayapura captain Boaz Solossa (right) trying to pass through the Persija footballer when opening of TSC 2016 at Mandala Stadium in Jayapura, Papua, on Friday (April 29, 2016). The match ended in a draw 1-1. (ANTARA/Indrayadi TH)

Jayapura (ANTARA News) - Persija Jakarta and the host team Persipura Jayapura of Papua Province drew their first match 1-1 in the Indonesia Soccer Championship (ISC), better known as the Torabika Soccer Championship (TSC) 2016, here on Friday night (April 29).

Ade Jantra of Persija scored the single goal for his team in the 12th minute, while the goal for Papua was scored by James Koko Lomel in the 18th minute through a penalty shootout.

The tournament was officially opened by President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) by kicking off the first game in Jayapura, Papua Province on Friday night.

The tournament was held at the Papua provincial stadium of Mandala Jayapura, and participated in by 18 clubs.

The opening ceremony of the event was also attended by Defense Forces (TNI) commander General Gatot Nurmantyo, the National Police Chief General Badrodin Haiti, and Youth and Sports Minister Imam Nahrawi.

The soccer event, scheduled from April 29 to May 29, 2016, will be held in 16 different cities.

The participating clubs are Arema Cronus FC, Bali United, PS Barito Putera, Bhayangkara Surabaya United, Madura United, Mitra Kukar FC, Persegres, Persela Lamongan, Persib Bandung, Persija Jakarta, Perseru Serui, Persipura Jayapura, Persiba Balikpapan, PS TNI, PSM Makassar, Pusamania Borneo FC, Semen Padang FC and Sriwijaya FC.