Jakarta (ANTARA News) - Head of the Metro Jaya Police Inspector General M. Iriawan has lauded Jakartas citizens for jointly maintaining security and order in the province during the second round of the 2017 Jakarta gubernatorial election.

"The police head of Metro Jaya and regional military commander of Jaya expressed their gratitude to the people of Jakarta, as the second round of the Jakarta election had run in a conducive manner," Head of Public Relations of the Metro Jaya Police Police Commissioner Argo Yuwono noted here on Thursday.

Yuwono stated that the voting and counting process went smoothly without any significant disturbance due to support from all societal elements.

He cited several incidents that had occurred owing to a misunderstanding, but the election organizers and security officers were able to diffuse the tensions.

Some events included the mass dissolution around the Polling Station 17 in Setiabudi, South Jakarta, as a station where the former Indonesian president B.J. Habibie had cast his vote.

The security officers have secured 15 people suspected of possessing identity cards of Madura, East Java, in the Klender area in East Jakarta.

The second round of the election was followed by two candidate pairs -- Basuki Tjahaja Purnama-Djarot Saiful Hidayat and Anies Baswedan-Sandiaga Uno -- on the last day.

Based on quick counts from several survey agencies, the Anies-Sandiaga pair had an edge, with about 58 percent of the votes as compared to the Basuki-Djarot pair, with 42 percent of the votes.

During the second round of the election, the number of permanent voters had reached 7,218,254, spread across 13,034 polling stations in Jakarta Province.

The second round of the election was held after no candidate was able to receive more than 50 percent of the votes in the first round.

The two pairs that qualified to compete in the second round are Basuki Tjahaja Purnama-Djarot Saiful Hidayat, who received 42.99 percent of the votes, and Anies Baswedan-Sandiaga Uno, with 39.95 percent of the votes. The pair of Agus Harimurti Yudhoyono and Sylviana Murni failed to qualify for the second round, as they received 17.07 percent of the votes.(*)

Editor: Heru Purwanto
Copyright © ANTARA 2017