Kpu issues provisional list of over 186.39 million voters

Kpu issues provisional list of over 186.39 million voters

KPU chairman Arief Budiman (right) speaks at a meeting with House Commission II regarding list of voters on Monday (21. (ANTARA/Akbar Nugroho Gumay)

Jakarta (ANTARA News) - The General Election Commission (KPU) has issued a provisional list of 186,379,878 voters, consisting of 185,098,281 domestic and 1,281,597 overseas voters.

"Data in the Provisional List of Voters (DPS) will continue to be improved until the issuance of the Final Voters List (DPT) next August," KPU Commissioner Viryan Azis stated here on Jakarta on Saturday.

Azis submitted a report on the recapitulation of incoming domestic DPS, coming from 510 districts/cities; 7,131 sub-districts; and 82,707 villages, with a total number of polling booths (TPS) of 799,855.

According to Azis, there are four districts in Papua Province that have not yet reported the DPS recapitulation, namely Mamberano Tengah, Mimika, Intan Jaya, and Lanny Jaya.

KPU Chairman Arief Budiman remarked that the plenary meeting on the DPS recapitulation is the first step that must be passed before fixing the DPT 2019.

He expressed hope that all parties can provide input to the General Election Commission on the process of determining the voters list until the stipulated DPT is issued in August.

The plenary meeting was attended by representatives of the Election Supervisory Agency (Bawaslu), the Honorary Council of the Election Organizing Committee, the Ministry of Home Affairs, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Commission II of the House of Representatives, political parties, and a number of elements of election campaigners.