Banda Aceh hosts IMT-GT meeting

Banda Aceh hosts IMT-GT meeting

Aceh traditions . (ANTARA FOTO/Ampelsa)

Banda Aceh, Aceh Province (ANTARA News) - Banda Aceh is hosting the Indonesia-Malaysia-Thailand Growth Triangle (IMT-GT) meeting on August 8-9, 2018.

Several governors, district heads, and mayors from Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand are attending the meeting, Taufik Mauliansyah, spokesman of the Banda Aceh municipality, stated here, Wednesday.

The meeting discusses efforts to promote sustainable urban development in the IMT-GT region, as part of the green city action plan, he noted.

A seminar on sustainable urban development for IMT-GT cities and a gathering of Green City Council members are among the highlights of the meeting.

The seminar is expected to produce a draft on the sustainable urban development framework, which will be presented before members of the Green City Council.

Results of the Banda Aceh meeting will be submitted to concerned ministers in the IMT-GT member countries and will be discussed during the 24th ministerial meeting of IMT-GT Meeting to be held in Malacca, Malaysia, on September 26, 2018.

Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand are neighbors sharing close historical, cultural, and linguistic ties. With southern Thailand and northern Malaysia sharing a land border, and separated from Sumatra, Indonesia, only by the narrow Straits of Malacca, these three Southeast Asian nations also share vibrant and growing economic linkages.

The IMT-GT sub-regional program aims to stimulate economic development in 32 of these three countries` less-developed cities, districts, and provinces, which are home to over 54 million people.

The IMT-GT comprises southern Thailand`s 14 provinces of Krabi, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phattalung, Satun, Songkhla, Trang, Yala, Chumphon, Ranong, Surat Thani, Phang Nga, and Phuke; eight northern states of Peninsular Malaysia notably Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Penang, Perak, Perlis, and Selangor; and 10 provinces located on Indonesia`s Sumatra Island.

The 10 Indonesian provinces are Aceh, Bangka-Belitung, Bengkulu, Jambi, Lampung, North Sumatra, Riau, Riau Islands, South Sumatra, and West Sumatra.

Reporting by M Haris SA
Editing Fardah, Otniel