Ambon, Maluku (ANTARA) - An earthquake of intensity 7.7 on the Richter Scale rattled Southwest Maluku District, Maluku Province, on Monday, at 11:53 a.m. local time.

The quake's epicenter was located at 6.51 degrees southern latitude and 129.27 degrees eastern longitude, some 135 kilometers (km) north of Tepa, Southwest Maluku, and 231 km south of Banda, Central Maluku, Sunardi, head of the Ambon meteorology, climatology, and geophysics office (BMKG), stated here on Monday.

The magnitude was later updated to 7.4 on the Richer Scale, and its epicenter was found to be at 6.44 degrees southern latitude and 129.17 degrees eastern longitude.

The tremor was felt in Saumlaki with an intensity of V modified marcelli intensity (MMI); MMI III-IV in Tual; MMI III in Subawa and Sorong; MMI II-III in Dobo, Alor, Fak-Fak, and Kupang; and MMI II in Manokwari, Bima, Dompu, Banda, Waingapu, Ambon, Bula, Nabire, Merauke, Denpasar, and Puncak Jaya.

The earthquake did not have the potential to trigger a tsunami, he added.

Translator: Penina FM, Fardah
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2019