Depok, West Java (ANTARA) - The University of Indonesia’s (UI’s) Zen Team won "Cyber Jawara," literally meaning Cyber Champion, national hacking competition, thereby entitling it to participate in the regional hacking competition Cyber SEA Games to be organized in Thailand.

The UI team that stood first and won a prize worth Rp25 million comprised the three young men -- Febriananda Wida Pramudita, Raihan Ramadistra, and Steven Kusuman -- studying in the Faculty of Computer Science, UI.

Raihan revealed here on Thursday that the team had stepped up its exercise during the weekend prior to the Bangkok competition.

The R.O.P team, comprising two students of Amikom University and one student of the University of Diponegoro in Semarang, Central Java, came second, while the CUM Reborn team from the Bandung Institute of Technology (ITB) stood third.

As the winner, the Zen Team will represent Indonesia in the Cyber SEA Games in Bangkok and international hacking competitions, respectively CTF in Las Vegas, the US, and Japan Seccon in Tokyo.

The winners of "Cyber Jawara" 2016 and 2017 had emerged as the champions in the Cyber SEA Games in Bangkok and were ranked eighth in Japan Seccon.

Bisyron Wahyudi, a national cybersecurity practitioner and member of the Cyber Jawara Committee, remarked that Cyber Jawara is a means of testing the capability of local hackers and diverting their attention from committing illegal actions.

The national competition also serves as a platform to recruit talented young men possessing good cybersecurity capabilities and to select participants for regional and international hacking competitions.

Rudi Lumanto, chairman of the National Cyber and Encryption Agency (BSSN), concurrently head of the Indonesian Security Incident Response Team on Internet Infrastructure (IDSIRTI), highlighted the high demand for cybersecurity experts in Indonesia.

The country should also intensify public awareness campaigns on cybersecurity from the ground level and target young hackers.

Organized by BSSN and IDSIRTI, Cyber Jawara is expected to help meet the needs and contribute to national cybersecurity development, he stated.

The national competition has been organized annually since 2012 to coincide with National Internet Security Day organized by the Communication and Informatics Ministry.

This year, the Eighth Cyber Jawara competition began on September 6, 2019, and the final was held on October 16 in Depok.

Out of the total of 288 teams participating in the competition, 15 entered the final. The finalists are R.O.P, AKUCINTABSSN, Lucifer, CUM Reborn, ZEN, Ziwa Gacha Kami Menangid, buitenzorg, Tydac Berfaedah, ChronousCTF, f00d, Magbanua Inc, Ahlul Jannah, LicenseKey and Purple Hat Security (A-F).

Related news: E-election spared from hacking: Technology Agency
Related news: Russia targets forging cybersecurity cooperation with Indonesia
Related news: Indonesia wants joint ASEAN Cybersecurity Regulation

Translator: Feru Lantara,Fardah
Editor: Sri Haryati
Copyright © ANTARA 2019