COVID-19: Healthcare workers in Papua's Mimika mourn death of nurse

COVID-19: Healthcare workers in Papua's Mimika mourn death of nurse

Head of the Mimika Health Office, Reynold Ubra. (ANTARA/Evarianus Supar)

Timika, Papua (ANTARA) - Healthcare workers in Mimika district, Papua province mourned the death of a nurse due to COVID-19 on Thursday.

The nurse, Puput Putriani, worked at the Kwamki Public Health Center in Timika, the capital of Mimika district.

Putriani, who was pregnant, contracted COVID-19 at her workplace and was admitted to Mimika Public Hospital on Wednesday, head of the Mimika Health Office, Reynold Ubra, said.

"We all are mourning her passing," he said, adding that all healthcare workers have been fighting to save the lives of COVID-19 patients.

Therefore, people who intentionally create and circulate videos to share their skepticism of COVID-19, despite the fact that many families have lost their loved ones to the disease, are deplorable, he remarked.

Two healthcare workers have died of COVID-19 since the pandemic hit Mimika on March 25, 2020 while the district's infection rate has been recorded at 8,398 as of July 28, 2021, Ubra informed.

At least 117 of the 8,398 COVID-19 patients have died, with the peak of deaths occurring in July this year, he added.

The Mimika COVID-19 Task Force recorded 57 deaths between July 1 and July 28, or equal to 5.5 deaths per day, he pointed out.

On July 21, 2021, Mimika district head Eltinus Omaleng had said that the situation in Mimika had become alarming with COVID-19 deaths recording a sharp spike over a period of two weeks.

As a result, the growth in the number of new cases was significant, the bed occupancy at isolation rooms was almost full, and oxygen supplies were running out, he added.​​​​​​​

Papua's COVID-19 task force recently disclosed that 18 cities and districts across the province have been affected by the recent wave of infections.

Six of the affected areas are located in mountainous regions in the districts of Jayawijaya, Lanny Jaya, Tolikara, Pegunungan Bintang, Paniai, and Puncak Jaya.

The 12 other affected regions comprise Jayapura City and the districts of Jayapura, Merauke, Boven Digul, Asmat, Mappi, Mimika, Biak Numfor, Supiori, Kepulauan Yapen, Nabire, and Keerom.

Related news: Increase COVID-19 command posts in villages, regions urged
Related news: Need to learn to live with COVID-19: task force
Related news: Merauke presses ahead with PON preparations amid COVID surge