Jakarta (ANTARA) - The Directorate General of Immigration of the Law and Human Rights Ministry has declared Colombia, Maldives, and Monaco eligible for the “special visa on arrival (VoA) for tourism” facility.

"The three countries are Colombia, Maldives, and Monaco," an official from the directorate general, Achmad Nur Saleh, revealed here on Wednesday.

With the addition of the three countries, the total number of countries the facility has been extended to has reached 75.

Meanwhile, the "visa exemption facility" has been extended to holders of passports from nine countries— Brunei Darussalam, the Philippines, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

The tourism VoA and the visa exemption facility have been specifically designed for foreigners seeking to enter and travel across Indonesia, Saleh informed. However, if their activities violate the provisions, they can be subjected to sanctions according to Law No. 6 of 2011 concerning Immigration.

Related news: Foreigners asked to apply for onshore visas by Sept 20

Moreover, the VoA for tourists can be applied through the country's air, land, and sea entrances, he added.

The requirements for VoA include a passport that is still valid for at least 6 months, a return flight ticket that shows when the applicant will leave Indonesian territory, proof of payment, and a COVID-19 vaccine certificate/proof.

He said that the cost of VoA for tourists is Rp500 thousand (around US$35) and payments can be made in US dollars or rupiah.

"VoA (is valid for 30 days), can be extended; so the total stay (duration) can be 60 days," Saleh added.

The government has also opened 46 immigration checkpoints to provide VoA services as well as 120 checkpoints for processing the arrival of foreigners under the visa exemption facility.

Related news: Visas issued to Indonesian students rise over 20 percent

Translator: M Zulfikar, Kenzu T
Editor: Suharto
Copyright © ANTARA 2022