All G20 countries agree on the three pillars of energy transition.
Jakarta (ANTARA) - G20 countries have agreed to expedite energy transition and achieve global goals on sustainable development and climate change mitigation, Chairman of the Energy Transition Working Group (ETWG) Yudo Dwinanda Priaadi stated.

"All G20 countries agree on the three pillars of energy transition. This is certainly a positive signal to the global community," Priaadi noted in a statement here, Friday.

The ETWG chairman said the G20 has ambitions and commitments as part of the solution to global problems to support post-pandemic global economic recovery, accelerate transition towards a cleaner energy system in a just manner, and encourage access to modern energy that is affordable, reliable, and sustainable.

The Group of Twenty is an intergovernmental forum comprising 19 countries and the European Union (EU). It works to address major issues related to the global economy.

Related news: G20 DEMM yields consensus on three DEWG issues

Priaadi said the forum also seeks to reduce global emissions and improve energy resilience to mitigate various risks that may disrupt supply and spark energy market instability.

He said the ETWG-III session has also encouraged the issuance of a joint statement from energy ministers at the Energy Transitions Ministerial Meeting (ETMM).

"We are very grateful that at the ETWG, all countries showed their seriousness to reach a consensus on as many issues as possible. This is important to give a signal to the global community that the G20, as an economic powerhouse, is committed to supporting global economic recovery while accelerating energy transition," he elaborated.

Related news: Minister asks countries to collaborate on energy transition

The G20 conference on energy transition has also succeeded in formulating the basic principles in accelerating energy transition called the Bali COMPACT.

The basic principles, which were formulated in Bali, would serve as a solid foundation and reference for the G20 countries in accelerating energy transition.

Priaadi stated that this principle is translated into the Bali Energy Transitions Roadmap through the framework of the three pillars of energy transition, with support from international organizations that are knowledge partners of ETWG.

The roadmap will serve as a framework for action in the process of accelerating energy transition initiated by Indonesia and is expected to be continued and enriched by the next G20 presidencies that will be held by India in 2023, Brazil in 2024, and South Africa in 2025.

"Here we discuss that energy transition should not disrupt economic growth in developing countries. Energy transition is conducted fairly by considering price affordability and inclusiveness of energy and technology types, as well as ensuring that it provides benefits for all affected community groups," he said.

"Therefore, we are currently drafting a joint agreement while still considering the situation and conditions in each country and how collaboration in the G20 can occur synergistically," he added.

Related news: Bali Compact summarizes approach to achieve net zero emissions: Tasrif

Related news: DEWG not a forum for discussing Russia-Ukraine conflict: minister

Translator: Sugiharto Purnama, Sri Haryati
Editor: Fardah Assegaf
Copyright © ANTARA 2022