Jakarta (ANTARA) - The Indonesian men's singles shuttler Anthony Sinisuka Ginting defended his championship title in the BWF World Tour Super 750 event, Singapore Open, held at the Singapore Indoor Stadium on Sunday (June 11).

Ginting, the only Indonesian player in the final, defeated Anders Antonsen of Denmark, with a score of 21-16, 21-13, in a final match to win his second title in Singapore.

"I feel like playing at home. The spectators have been supportive to me since I entered the court. It always excites me to play here," Ginting noted in a statement received here on Sunday.

The Tokyo 2020 bronze medallist defeated Kodai Naraoka of Japan in last year’s final. Ginting’s victory over Antonsen in the Singapore Open this year is his first tournament win of the year.

According to Ginting, facing a different opponent required him to prepare a different strategy. However, facing either Naraoka or Antonsen in the finals was no easy task.

"I am happy to win the championship, but this is certainly not an easy achievement. There are still things that need to be chased. My opponents surely also want to defeat me," he remarked.

Related news: Indonesian badminton athletes advance to Singapore Open final

The Indonesian men's singles assistance coach, Harry Hartono, stated that Ginting deserved to win the championship, as he was able to maximize the strategy, which had been discussed together.

Hartono said that Ginting played very aggressively and was able to master the net play.

"From his success, the positive side is that Anthony will be more confident. I appreciate that he can bring out all the capabilities he has," he affirmed.

In other categories, the second seed An Se Young of South Korea beat the world number one Akane Yamaguchi of Japan to claim the women's singles title. An won the final in straight games, 21-16, 21-14.

China's top seeds -- Chen Qing Chen and Jia Yi Fan -- claimed the women's doubles crown after a 21-16, 21-12 victory over the Korean pair Baek Ha Na and Lee So Hee.

The mixed doubles crown went to Denmark, with Matthias Christiansen and Alexandra Boje beating Yuta Watanabe and ArisaHigashino of Japan.

Takuro Hoki and Yugo Kobayashi of Japan emerged as the men's doubles winners after defeating China's LiangWei Keng and Wang Chang, 21-13, 21-18.

Related news: Indonesia crowned overall champion in ASEAN para-badminton

Related news: Indonesia emerges as badminton general champion at 2023 SEA Games

Reporter: Shofi Ayudiana
Editor: Yuni Arisandy Sinaga
Copyright © ANTARA 2023