Jakarta (ANTARA) - Indonesia's General Elections Commission (KPU) stated that Indonesian citizens whose names are not yet available in the final overseas voter list (DPTLN) would belong to the special overseas voter list (DPKLN).

KPU Commissioner Idham Kholik made the statement in response to a video recently going viral and claiming that several hundred Indonesians in Malaysia have yet to get registered in KPU's final voter list (DPT).

Kholik noted in Jakarta on Tuesday that he had to ensure that the video's content was not aimed at deliberately circulating false information to the public, as there is a special category for those who have yet to get registered in the DPTLN.

Indonesians belonging to this category have yet to get registered in DPT, he remarked, adding that eligible voters living abroad, who have yet to be registered, will be grouped into DPKLN.

According to the video recently going viral on social media platform X, several hundred Indonesian citizens in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, claimed that they had yet to get registered for the 2024 General Elections.

Related news: Minister demands strict neutrality from officials ahead of elections

They claimed that their names were not available in the DPTLN that the KPU had finalized. This finding had been reported to the Elections Supervisory Agency in Malaysia, according to the video.

The KPU has announced that the presidential and parliamentary elections will be held simultaneously across Indonesia on February 14, 2024.

The commission has officially set a 75-day election campaign period for the three pairs of presidential and vice presidential candidates from November 28, 2023, to February 10, 2024.

All participating political parties and presidential contenders have pledged to conduct peaceful presidential and parliamentary elections.

As part of its efforts to make voters aware of the three candidate pairs' political pledges, the commission has organized five rounds of debates ahead of the presidential election.

Related news: Election workers' bonuses targeted for January: Jokowi

The first and second rounds were held on December 12 and December 22, 2023. The third and fourth rounds will take place on January 7 and January 21, 2024, while the fifth round will be held on February 4, 2024.

Three pairs of presidential and vice presidential candidates are contesting the presidential election: Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar, Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka, and Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD.

Baswedan and Iskandar have been nominated with the support of the NasDem Party, National Awakening Party, Prosperous Justice Party, and Ummat Party.

Meanwhile, Subianto and Raka have the backing of the Gerindra Party and a coalition of parties, including Golkar, National Mandate Party, Democratic Party, and Gelora Party.

Pranowo and Mahfud have the support of the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDIP), United Development Party, Perindo Party, and Hanura Party.

Related news: KPU urged to uphold transparency, honesty in elections

Translator: Narda MS, Rahmad Nasution
Editor: Jafar M Sidik
Copyright © ANTARA 2024