Pekanbaru (ANTARA News) - The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) 18 satellite of the United States operated in Singapore, detected 72 hotspots in Sumatra, of which 10 are located in Riau Province, according to the Regional Disaster Mitigation Agency (BPBD).

BPBD Head Said Saqlul Amri said in his electronic release on Sunday that the 10 hotspots in Raiu province were detected on Saturday. Four of the 10 hotspots were located in Siak District, namely one in Dayun village and another one in Minas Subdistrict.

The satellite also detected one in Pangkalan Pisang Village, Koto Gasib subdistrict and one in Sam-Sam Village, Kandis Subdistrict.

The NOAA 18 satellite also detected three hotspots in Kampar District, particularly in Sungai Rambai village and one in Kambar Kiri Subdistrict.

According to the NOAA 18 satellite, the other two hotspots were found in Kuantan Singingi District, namely in Munsalo village, Kuantan Tengah Subdistrict, and in Gunug Melintang Village, Kuantan Hilir Subdistrict.

One hotspot was also detected in Telayap Village, Pelalawan Subdistrict, Pelalawan District.

Saqlul Amri said the emergence of the hotspots was scarce rain falls over the past several days.

In order to anticipate haze, Saqlul Amri said his side continued to try to put out land fires in the region.

He said that the regional government of Riau will soon have a fast reaction team (TRC) to handle land and forest fires which often take place in various areas in the province.

"We have passed several phases in selecting personnel to form the team and the results of the selection will be announced in the near future," he said.

Editor: Priyambodo RH
Copyright © ANTARA 2014