Gorontalo declares flood emergency

Gorontalo (ANTARA News) - The Gorontalo authorities have declared a state of emergency on Wednesday after floods hit nine sub-districts.

The flood-affected sub-districts were Limboto, West Limboto, Tolangohula, Tibawa, Asparaga, Bilato, Dungaliyo, Tilango and Boliyohuto, Doni Lahatie, head of local disaster mitigation office (BPBD), said here on Wednesday.

Three rivers, namely Marisa, Bionga and Moloopu, overflowed and flooded residential areas following incessant heavy rains that have been lashing the region since Tuesday.

Some 3,000 houses were inundated, affecting 15 thousand people in 20 villages in the nine sub-districts, he informed.

A number of flood victims in West Limboto, Limboto and Tibawa were evacuated to higher grounds.

"We have distributed packets of instant food and set up public kitchens in several places affected by flooding," Lahatie informed.(*)