The synergy of all the parties helped in creating a more conducive climate in each area."
Tangerang (ANTARA News) - The Indonesian National Police chief General Tito Karnavian said that simultaneous regional elections were held safely and smoothly in 101 areas.

"The local elections in 101 areas across the country were held safely without any disturbances," Karnavian said in a press conference here on Thursday.

The national police lauded the people who upheld democracy, and the gubernatorial candidates who showed maturity in politics.

In addition, he lauded the local government, military, public, and other elements that helped in maintaining security throughout the election, so that all forms of disorders could be anticipated as early as possible as part of the efforts to avoid conflicts.

"The synergy of all the parties helped in creating a more conducive climate in each area," he remarked.

The police chief said that no significant incidents were reported during the implementation of the elections.

He stated that he expected people to continue to maintain peaceful, stable, and conducive situations during elections.

"The synergy is expected to continue in creating a conducive situation for people," he remarked.

Indonesia earlier held simultaneous direct regional head elections in 101 regions across the country, covering the regions from the westernmost province of Aceh to the easternmost province of Papua on Wednesday, Feb 15, 2017.

The elections took place in seven provinces to elect governors and deputy governors, in 76 districts to elect district heads and deputy district heads, and in 18 municipalities to elect mayors and deputy mayors.

The seven provinces included Aceh, Bangka Belitung, DKI Jakarta, Banten, Gorontalo, Sulawesi Barat (West Sulawesi), and Papua Barat (West Papua).

The 76 districts covered Aceh Besar, Aceh Utara, Aceh Timur, Aceh Jaya, Bener Meriah, Pidie, Simeulue, Aceh Singkil, Bireun, Aceh Barat Daya, Aceh Tenggara, Gayo Lues, Aceh Barat, Nagan Raya, Aceh Tengah, and Aceh Tamiang (in Aceh Prinvice); Tapanuli Tengah (North Sumatera); Kepulauan Mentawai (West Sumatera); Kampar (Riau); Muaro Jambi, Sarolangun, and Tebo (Jambi); Musi Banyuasin (South Sumatera), Bengkulu Tengah (Bengkulu).

The other districts are Tulang Bawang Barat, Pringsewu, Mesuji, Lampung Barat, and Tulang Bawang (Lampung); Bekasi (West Java); Banjarnegara, Batang, Jepara, Pati, Cilacap, and Brebes (Central Java); Kulonprogo (EastJava); Buleleng (Bali); Flores Timur and Lembata (NTT); Landak (West Kalimantan); Barito Selatan and Kotawaringin Barat (Central Kalimantan); Hulu Sungai Utara and Barito Kuala (South Kalimantan); Banggai Kepulauan and Buol (Central Sulawesi).

The other districts included Bolaang Mongondow and Kepulauan Sangihe (North Sulawesi); Takalar (South Sulawesi); Bombana, Kolaka Utara, Buton, Boalemo, Muna Barat, Buton Tengah, and Buton Selatan (Southeast Sulawesi); Seram Bagian Barat, Buru, Maluku Tenggara Barat, and Maluku Tengah (Maluku); Pulau Morotai and Halmahera Tengah (North Maluku); Nduga, Lanny Jaya, Sarmi, Mappi, Tolikara, Kepulauan Yapen, Jayapura, Intan Jaya, Puncak Jaya, and Dogiyai (Papua); Tambrauw, Maybrat, and Sorong (Papua Barat).

In the meantime, elections were also held in 18 cities, including Banda Aceh, Lhokseumawe, Langsa, and Sabang (Aceh); Tebing Tinggi (North Sumatera); Payakumbuh (West Sumatera); Pekanbaru (Riau); Cimahi and Tasikmalaya (West Java); Salatiga (Central Java); Yogyakarta (Yogyakarta Special Region); Batu (East Java); Kupang (East Nusa Tenggara); Singkawang (West Kalimantan); Kendari (South East Sulawesi); Ambon (Maluku); Jayapura (Papua); and Sorong (Papua Barat).

According to the General Election Commission (KPU), a total of 41.2 million people across the country were registered in the final voters list. Thus, under the 77.5 percent participation level target set by the KPU, at least 31.9 million of voters took part in the elections.

Editor: Priyambodo RH
Copyright © ANTARA 2017