President Jokowi installs 17 Indonesian ambassadors

President Jokowi installs 17 Indonesian ambassadors

President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) recites the oath of office to Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Indonesia to the friendly countries at the State Palace, Jakarta, Monday (March 13, 2017). (ANTARA FOTO/Puspa Perwitasari)

Jakarta (ANTARA News) - President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) installed 17 new Indonesian ambassadors at the State Palace, here, Monday.

Among those present at the inauguration ceremony were First Lady Iriana, Vice President M. Jusuf Kalla, Foreign Affairs Minister Retno L.P. Marsudi, Trade Minister Enggartiasto Lukita, Public Works and Public Housing Minister Basuki Hadimuljono, Defense Minister Ryamizard Ryacudu, and Coordinating Minister for Political, Legal, and Security Affairs Wiranto.

The 17 new ambassadors are:

1. Hasan Kleib, MA, as ambassador to Switzerland,

2. Priyo Iswanto, MA, as ambassador to Colombia,

3. Retired Major General Dr Eng Arief Rachman, MM, MBA, as ambassador to Afghanistan,

4. Rahmat Pramono, MA, as ambassador to Kazakhstan,

5. Prof. Dr Ikrar Nusa Bhakti, as ambassador to Tunisia,

6. Nur Syahrir Rahardjo, as ambassador to Bahrain,

7. Tantowi Yahya, as ambassador to New Zealand,

8. Darmansjah Djumala, MA, as ambassador to Austria,

9. Sahat Sitorus, as ambassador to Timor Leste,

10. Yohanes Kristiarto Soeryo Legowo, as ambassador to Australia,

11. Umar Hadi, MA, as ambassador to South Korea,

12. I Gusti Ngurah Ardiyasa, as ambassador to Sri Lanka,

13. Prof. Dr Yuddy Chrisnandi, ME, as ambassador to Ukraine,

14. Eng Arifin Tasrif, as ambassador to Japan,

15. Andy Rachmianto, M.Phil, as ambassador to Jordan,

16. RA Esti Andayani, as ambassador to Italy,

17. Retired Commissioner General Sjahroedin Zainal Pagaralam, as ambassador to Croatia.

(Reported by Agus Salim/Uu.F001/INE/KR-BSR/B003)