Government sends 70 specialists to 26 provinces to meet needs

Jakarta (ANTARA News) - The government has sent 70 medical specialists participating in the Medical Specialists Compulsory Working Program (WKDS) to 62 districts/cities in 26 provinces in the country to meet their needs.

"The first dispatch on March 30 included 70 WKDS participants," head of the health ministrys human resource development, Usman Sumantri, said here on Wednesday.

Of the total, 35 joined the program on their own expenditure, while the other 35 were scholarship recipients.

The specialists included obstetricians and gynecologists, internists, surgeons, anesthetists, and pediatricians.

"The placement is based on proposals and the results of assessment. The first batch is stationed in 63 hospitals in 62 districts/cities of 26 provinces," Usman noted.

The hospitals receiving the specialists were selected based on assessment made by a health ministry team visiting them with regard to the human resources available, availability of means and facilities, and socio-economic conditions.

The provinces include West Sumatra, Riau, Bangka Belitung, West Java, Central Java, Yogyakarta, East Java, West Nusa Tenggara, South Kalimantan, East Kalimantan, North Sulawesi, Gorontslo, Maluku, North Maluku, and West Papua.

"The second batch is expected to be sent by the end of April," he revealed.(*)