Bogor, W Java (ANTARA News) - Indonesia has garnered four medals from paragliding at the Asian Games 2018, with two gold, one silver and one bronze medals.

Indonesia won the gold medals in the men`s accuracy landing team class and individual class through Jafro Megawanto.

The silver medal came from the women`s team and the bronze medal from Rika Wijayanti in the women`s individual event.

Youth and Sports Minister Imam Nahrawi praised the paragliding team for their achievements.

"Alhamdulillah (thank God) we earned another medal. May the medals encourage all Indonesian athletes who are now struggling," he said.

Minister Nahrawi, Air Force Chief of Staff Marshal Yuyu Sutisna in his capacity as chief of the Indonesian Aero Sport Federation (FASI), and the federation`s vice secretary general, Agung Sasongko, placed the medals around the necks of the winners.

With the medal conferment ceremony, the Asian Games 2018 paragliding competition in the men`s and women`s accuracy landing team classes and the men`s and women`s individual classes has been completed.

The Indonesian paragliding team consisting of Jafro Megawanto, Hening Paradigma, Roni Pratama, Joni Efendi, and Aris Apriansyah scored 1,104 points in the men`s accuracy landing class.

Korea, which fielded Kim Jinon, Lee Changmin, Le Seong Min, and Lim Moonseob, finished second with 1,771 points.

The third place went to Thailand, which fielded Sarayut Chinpongsatorn, Tanapat Luangiam, Mongkut Preecha, Jirasak Wittetham, and Nithat Yangjui with 1,901 points.

In the women`s team class, Thailand, which fielded Chantika Chaisanuk, Nunnapat Phucong, and Narubhom Yangjui took home the gold medal with 2,045 points.

The Indonesian team, which comprised Ike Ayu Wulandari, Lis Andriana, and Rika Wijayanti, finished second with 2,122 points.

Korea, which fielded Baek Jinhae, Jang Woo Young, and Le da Gyeom, took the bronze medal with 2,363 points.

In the men`s landing accuracy individual class Jafro Megawanto contributed his second gold medal to Indonesia, with 27 points.

Reported by Laily Rahmawaty
Edited by Suharto, Bustanudin

Reporter: antara
Editor: Heru Purwanto
Copyright © ANTARA 2018