Jakarta (ANTARA News) - Indonesia has called for the strengthening of multilateralism at the G20 Summit in Buenos Aires, Argentina, from November 30 to December 1.

Vice President Jusuf Kalla made the call when he spoke after being appointed as a key speaker on "Building Consensus" on the second day of the meeting, according to a press statement received here on Sunday.

"Sustainable development and climate change are two closely-linked global issues that need to be overcome together," he said in the statement.

The G20 Summit that ended on December 1 reached an agreement on G20 Leaders` Declaration on Building Consensus for Fair and Sustainable Development.

The agreement that was reached following tough negotiations that had been done marathon and intensively since a week ago contains important issues needing immediate action at global level.

The important issues include international trade that could affect global econmic growth, multilateral cooperation based on international rules, stable international financial system, migration and refugees, climate change, energy and agricultural resilience, economic digitalization that could support distribution of development and inclusive financr, corruption and efforts to stop funding related to terrorism and other crimes.

Indonesia has been able to include issues about financial innovation development through business model with economic digitalization and renewable energy.

Vice President Jusuf Kalla who spoke on the theme of "Embracing the Opportunities" said Indonesia urged G20 countries to strengthen partnership in mobilizing private sector`s investment, innovation and technology transfer.

The conclusion of G20 Summit ended Argentina`s G20 presidency in 2018 which will later be taken ovet by Japan.

G20 is a cooperation forum of big economies in the world comprising 85 percent of the world`s gross domestic producy, 75 percent world trade and two thirds of global population.

It has 19 countries as members including the US, South Africa, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, China, Canada, Japan, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, South Korea, Mexico, France, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and one regional group, the European Union.

Reporting by M Arief Iskandar, Yoseph Hariyadi

Editing by Yoseph Hariyadi

Reporter: Antara
Editor: Yosep Hariyadi
Copyright © ANTARA 2018