Jakarta (ANTARA) - The government has placed a ban that suspends the entry and transit of foreign nationals to Indonesia to handle the challenges posed by the spread of the new type of coronavirus known as COVID-19.

"This rule comes into effect from April 2, 2020, at 00:00 local time," Acting spokesman for the Foreign Affairs Ministry Teuku Faizasyah told reporters via videoconferencing on Wednesday.

It is stipulated in Minister of Law and Human Rights Regulation No. 11 of 2020 on prohibition on the entry of foreigners into the territory of the Republic of Indonesia

The ban is applicable to all foreigners except for those holding limited residence permits and permanent residence permits, diplomatic and official visas, and diplomatic residence permits and official residence permits.

Furthermore, food aid and medical support staff based on humanitarian grounds; sea, air and land transportation crew members; as well as foreigners, who will work on national strategic projects, are exempt from the ban.

However, foreigners excluded from the ban must fulfill several requirements before being allowed to enter Indonesian territory.

The requirements in question comprise being able to furnish a health certificate in English issued by the health authorities of each country, having spent 14 days in a COVID-19-free region or country; as well as a 14-day statement of willingness to be quarantined by the Indonesian government.

The Indonesian government had earlier imposed a ban on entry or transit for migrants, who had visited Iran, Italy, the Vatican, Spain, France, Germany, Switzerland, and Britain in the last 14 days.

In addition to that policy, specific policies involving several countries, such as China and South Korea, especially Daegu City and Gyeongsangbuk-do Province, are still in force. Related news: 100 cruise crew members land in Bali
Related news: Imported cases pose new challenge to tackling COVID-19 crisis: Jokowi

Reporter: Yashinta Difa, Azis K
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2020