With 13 other new patients, the total number of COVID-19 patients in Papua Province reaches 155. As many as 104 of them remain hospitalized
Jayapura, Papua (ANTARA) - The Papuan provincial government is striving ceaselessly to flatten the curve of the new coronavirus disease (COVID-19), with news, as of Tuesday, indicating 155 confirmed cases, spokesman of Papua's COVID-19 Task Force, Silwanus Sumule, stated.

"With 13 other new patients, the total number of COVID-19 patients in Papua Province reaches 155. As many as 104 of them remain hospitalized," Sumule told journalists in Jayapura, the capital of Papua Province, on Monday evening.

In spite of the increased number of patients, those fully covering from this deadly virus also showed a rising trend.

"Thank God, 44 of the 155 residents diagnosed with coronavirus have been discharged from hospitals after having fully recovered," Sumule stated.

The additional number of residents diagnosed with COVID-19 came from several districts and cities in Papua. COVID-19 cases can be found in 11 districts and cities across the province, he remarked.

Among the COVID-19-affected districts and cities are Mimika, Jayapura City, Jayapura, Merauke, Keerom, Sarmi, Nabire, Jayawijaya, Biak, Mamberamo, and Boven Digul, he revealed.

The coronavirus outbreak initially struck the Chinese city of Wuhan at the end of 2019, but it then spread to various parts of the world, including countries in the Asia-Pacific region.

The Indonesian government officially announced the country's first confirmed cases on March 2. Since then, the central and regional governments across the country have made persistent efforts to flatten the curve by imposing healthcare protocols and social restrictions.

In breaking the chain of this novel coronavirus disease that has impacted the purchasing power of so many families in Indonesia, large-scale social restrictions are enforced in several cities, including Jakarta, Bogor, Depok, Tangerang, Bekasi, and Pekanbaru.

The central government has also banned homebound travel, or locally known as "mudik," during the fasting month of Ramadhan and Idul Fitri holiday seasons.

The government officially implemented the “mudik” ban at 00:00 hrs Western Indonesia Time (WIB) on Friday, April 24, 2020. The ban excludes the movement of logistics, drugs, officers, fire engines, ambulances, and hearses.

The ban will be in place until May 31, 2020, for land transportation; June 15, 2020, for railway transportation; June 8, 2020, for sea transportation; and, June 1, 2020, for air transportation.

Related news: Jakarta Emergency Hospital records drop in number of COVID-19 patients

Related news: Jakarta reports 3,832 coronavirus cases, 338 recoveries


Translator: Evarukdijati, Rahmad Nasution
Editor: Fardah Assegaf
Copyright © ANTARA 2020