Several regions curbed coronavirus spread without applying PSBB

Several regions curbed coronavirus spread without applying PSBB

Customary village security guards, or pecalang, stop a foreign national from entering their village without a mask. (ANTARA FOTO/Nyoman Hendra Wibowo/nym/foc)

Jakarta (ANTARA) - Several Indonesian provinces that did not apply large-scale social restrictions (PSBB) have managed to control the number of new infections, said chief of the Task Force for the Acceleration of COVID-19 Handling, Doni Monardo.

"Some regions did not apply PSBB, but they have reduced the number of confirmed coronavirus cases. They have also recorded several recoveries and reported no new deaths," he said at a video press conference on Tuesday in Jakarta.

One of the provinces which did not apply PSBB is Bali, which managed to stem the spread of COVID-19, he pointed out.

Bali took maximum advantage of local wisdom, customary villages, and custom-based mutual help to prevent COVID-19 from spreading, he explained.

"Every customary village has a task force at the village level," he added.

Bali Governor I Wayan Koster said the people of Bali have complied with customary village's rules and have shown discipline in applying them.

Bali has a total of 1,493 customary villages, which play a key role in maintaining discipline among the local people, and their authority includes denying entry to customary villages for residents from other villages.

President Joko Widodo has drawn attention to seven provinces with a high number of COVID-19 cases that have not applied large-scale social restrictions to control the transmission of the coronavirus disease.

During a limited meeting on PSBB evaluation, held via video teleconference from the Merdeka Palace, Jakarta on Tuesday, the President urged government officials to evaluate COVID-19 countermeasures in areas that have not applied PSBB and compare case developments in areas that have enforced PSBB with those that are yet to enact them.

Based on data from the Task Force for the Acceleration of COVID-19 Handling, as of Monday (May 11, 2020), 10 Indonesian provinces with the highest number of COVID-19 cases are: DKI Jakarta (5,276 cases), East Java (1,536), West Java (1,493), Central Java (980), Banten (541), West Nusa Tenggara (331), Bali (314), West Sumatra (299), South Sumatra (278), and South Kalimantan (263).

Of the 10 provinces with a high number of COVID-19 cases, only DKI Jakarta, West Java, and West Sumatra have applied large-scale social restrictions. 

Related news: Seven provinces with high COVID-19 cases not applying PSBB: President
Related news: Four key points draw Jokowi's attention in evaluating PSBB application