17 districts, cities in South Sulawesi brace for floods

17 districts, cities in South Sulawesi brace for floods

A river ferry boat at a jetty on River Jeneberang in Makassar bordering Gowa district in South Sulawesi Province. ANTARA/Suriani Mappong

Makassar, S Sulawesi (ANTARA) - A flood alert has been sounded in 17 out of 24 districts and cities in South Sulawesi province amid forecasts of heavy rains until Tuesday this week.

The Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency (BMKG) Office in Makassar on Monday issued a notice on potential heavy rains, which may lead to floods in South Sulawesi. The notice will be valid for two days until 7 p.m. local time Tuesday.

The districts and cities for which the alert has been sounded are Luwu, Palopo, Tana Toraja, Toraja Utara, Barru, Soppeng, Sidenreng, Wajo, Jeneponto, Gowa, Maros, and the two cities of Parepare and Makassar.

Meanwhile, seven other districts have been put on alert in anticipation of heavy rains.

In response to the weather forecast, port authorities in the province have asked fishermen to look up the weather update before venturing into the sea. The warning is important for the safety of fishermen as waves are expected to reach heights of 1.5-2.5 meters due to heavy rains, officials said.

South Sulawesi Governor HM Nurdin Abdullah has asked all agencies, including the National Disaster Mitigation Agency (BPBD), to remain on alert for floods