Jakarta (ANTARA) - President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) led the Seconds of Proclamation Commemoration Ceremony held to mark Indonesia's 78th Independence Day anniversary at the Merdeka Palace, Jakarta, on Thursday.

Jokowi, who wore the Ageman Songkok Singkepan Ageng traditional clothing from Surakarta, Central Java, acted as inspector for the Independence Day commemoration ceremony.

This year, Indonesia's Independence Day is commemorated with the theme "Moving Forward for Advanced Indonesia." The theme implies an invitation to all elements of the nation to jointly move forward to continue development with collaboration and synergy.

The commander of the ceremony was a colonel from the Indonesian Army's Field Artillery Corps (Armed), Joko Setiyo Kurniawan.

Before the ceremony began, the national flag and the independence proclamation text were transported in a procession by using a coach from the National Monument (Monas) to Merdeka Palace. Upon the arrival of the flag and the text, the ceremonial commander reported to the inspector.

Some 17 cannon booms, accompanied by a long siren sound, marked the start of the ceremony.

Speaker of the People's Consultative Assembly (MPR) Bambang Soesatyo read out the proclamation text, which 78 years ago was read by Indonesia's First President Soekarno.

President Jokowi, as the ceremony's inspector, then led the participants, both attending in person and virtually, for a moment of silence. The ceremony was then continued with a prayer read by Minister of Religious Affairs Yaqut Cholil Qoumas.

Thereafter, the national flag-hoisting troop (Paskibraka) hoisted the red and white flag.

The troop comprised Lilly Indriani Suparman Wenda from Papua Pegunungan Province, who was assigned to carry the national flag.

The troop also included Nathaniel Shawn Edgar Sondakh from North Sulawesi Province, assigned to spread the flag; Alfin Alfarisi from West Sumatra Province, in charge of hoisting the flag; and the troop's commander, Marine Captain Ganteng Prakoso.

Thursday's ceremony was also attended by Indonesia's earlier leaders, such as Fifth President Megawati Soekarnoputri, Sixth Vice President Try Sutrisno, Ninth Vice President Hamzah Haz, 10th and 12th Vice President Jusuf Kalla, and 11th Vice President Boediono.

Heads of state institutions, ambassadors from friendly countries, as well as ministers of the Indonesia Onward Cabinet also attended the ceremony.

Related news: Independence Day --- a time to look back and look ahead
Related news: West Papua holds 10K run in celebrating Indonesian Independence Day

Translator: Mentari Dwi, Raka Adji
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2023