Hangzhou, China (ANTARA) - Indonesian runner Saptoyogo Purnomo on Thursday clinched his third gold medal at the 2022 Asian Para Games in Hangzhou, China, in the men’s 100-meter T37 race.

In the race, which took place at the Huanglong Sports Center Stadium, he finished in first place, with a time record of 11.35 seconds.

The time record broke the previous record of 11.49 seconds at the 2018 Asian Para Games, which was held by Purnomo himself.

In the men’s 100-meter T37 race, the silver medal was won by Saudi Arabia’s Yousef S. Alnakhli, who finished 0.75 seconds behind Purnomo, while India’s Shreyansh Trivedi, who finished 0.85 seconds behind Purnomo, bagged the bronze medal.

On Wednesday Purnomo also won the gold medal in the men’s 200-meter T37 race, setting a new record at the Asian Para Games with a time of 23.34 seconds.

Earlier, on Monday he bagged the gold medal in the men's 400-meter T37 race, with a record of 54.80 seconds. It was the first gold medal for the Indonesia contingent at the 2022 Asian Para Games.

Related news: Indonesia's medal achievement at Hangzhou APG as per plan: minister

Purnomo's achievement at the Hangzhou Asian Para Games extended his range of achievements. He recently secured a ticket to the 2024 Paris Paralympics by winning silver in the men’s 100-meter T37 race of the Paris 2023 Para Athletics World Championships.

With Punomo’s gold medal on Thursday, the Indonesian para-athletics team has secured four gold medals, three silver medals, and two bronze medals at the 2022 Asian Para Games.

The Indonesian contingent is targeting to finish in the top 10 at the games, with a target of 19 gold, 23 silver, and 25 bronze medals.

The National Paralympics Committee of Indonesia (NPC Indonesia) sent 130 athletes to participate in the games.

They are competing in 12 sports in Hangzhou: athletics, swimming, weightlifting, badminton, cycling, shooting, judo, boccia, chess, lawn bowls, archery, and table tennis.

Related news: Asian Para Games: Indonesia claims gold in women's 100m T12 race

Translator: Arnidhya Nur, Raka Adji
Editor: Jafar M Sidik
Copyright © ANTARA 2023