Jakarta (ANTARA) - Fifth President of Indonesia and Chair of the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDIP) Megawati Soekarnoputri expressed hope that no fraud would occur during the 2024 general election.

"I really hope there is no fraud in this election," Soekarnoputri remarked after casting her vote at the polling station (TPS) Number 053 in the Kebagusan IV Dalam neighborhood in Pasar Minggu Sub-district, Jakarta, on Wednesday.

Hence, she reminded the public, including journalists, to monitor the potential for fraud during the 2024 elections.

"Anyone who commits intimidation, cheating, and other forms of fraud must be reported. Our Constitution stated that all citizens, wherever they are, have the same rights before the law," she remarked.

She then stated that all Indonesians have the right to vote in the 2024 election.

"Do not hesitate. Vote with your conscience. This election is a tool to find the leader of this country," Soekarnoputri remarked.

However, the ex-president spoke of having received several news regarding many voters who were unable to vote.

On voting day, Soekarnoputri was accompanied by her children, Speaker of the Indonesian House of Representatives (DPR RI), Puan Maharani, and Muhammad Prananda Prabowo. Apart from that, her granddaughter, Diah Pikatan Orissa Putri Hapsari, was also seen.

"Thank God, my family and I have carried out our duties, namely voting in the general elections," she stated.

Related news: Need to anticipate election fraud: observer

The 2024 elections are being held to elect the president and vice president, members of the Indonesian House of Representatives (DPR RI), Regional Representatives Council (DPD), and Regional Legislative Councils (DPRD) at the provincial, city, and district levels, with a national level permanent voter list (DPT) of 204,807,222 voters.

Some 18 national political parties participate in the 2024 election that include the National Awakening Party (PKB), Gerindra Party, PDI Perjuangan, Golkar Party, NasDem Party, Labor Party, and Gelora Indonesia Party.

The Prosperous Justice Party (PKS), Nusantara Awakening Party (PKN), Hanura Party, Garuda Party, National Mandate Party (PAN), Crescent Star Party (PBB), Democratic Party, Indonesian Solidarity Party (PSI), Perindo Party, United Development Party (PPP), and Ummat Party are also taking part in the election.

Moreover, there are six local political parties: the Nanggroe Aceh Party, Atjeh Beusaboh Tha'at and Taqwa Generation Party, Darul Aceh Party, Aceh Party, Aceh Prosperous and Fair Party, and Aceh People's Independent Solidity Party.

Meanwhile, the three pairs of presidential-vice presidential candidates participating in this year's election are Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar with official number 1; Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka, official number 2; and Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD, official number 3.

In accordance with the General Elections Commission (KPU) Regulation Number 3 of 2022, the national vote recapitulation for the 2024 Election is scheduled to take place from February 15 to March 20, 2024.

Related news: 15th anniversary moment to boost election fraud supervision: Bawaslu

Translator: Rio Feisal, Resinta Sulistiyandari
Editor: Yuni Arisandy Sinaga
Copyright © ANTARA 2024