Surabaya, E Java (ANTARA) - The Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka pair obtained 16,716,603 votes in East Java as announced by the province's General Elections Commission (KPU) at its plenary meeting that ended here, Monday morning.

The Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar pair grabbed 4,492,652 votes, while the presidential-vice presidential candidate pair number 3, Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD, garnered 4,434,805 votes.

"Alhamdulillah (Thank God), we have concluded our provincial level's final recapitulation of votes for 38 districts and cities in East Java," Head of the KPU-East Java Office Aang Kunaifi stated.

Following the completion of this recapitulation of votes, the KPU-East Java Office would deliver all documents containing the final results of the presidential election and members of the House of Representatives (DPR) and Regional Representatives Council (DPD) to the KPU in Jakarta, he remarked.

Regarding the 2024 Presidential and Parliamentary Elections, the total number of registered voters in East Java was recorded at 31,402,838, while those going to polling stations on Wednesday, February 14, 2024, to cast their votes were recorded at 26,539,721.

According to the KPU-East Java Office, some 25,644,060 of the 26,539,721 votes were classified as "valid votes" while 895,661 others were regarded as "invalid votes."

Indonesians have made their decision. At least 1.7 million voters living abroad cast their votes for the General Elections before February 14, while more than 203 million voters residing in Indonesia flocked to polling stations on Election Day.

Voters living outside Indonesia cast their ballot at 828 polling stations through 1,580 mobile voting boxes and 651 postal services, while Indonesian residents voted at 820,161 polling stations.

On Election Day, the polling stations in 84 electoral districts in 38 provinces were opened from 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. local time.

ANTARA reported earlier that the public will need to be patient to know the legitimate results of the 2024 elections, as the outcome of the manual vote count will be announced by the KPU by March 20 at the latest.

No doubt, Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar, Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka, and Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD and their coalitions of political parties too are awaiting the moment of truth.

In the meantime, several pollsters' quick counts, broadcast on the country's national TV stations, had revealed favorable results for the Prabowo-Gibran pair.

After the official result of the KPU's final manual vote count is announced, the winning candidate pair will need to wait for the presidential inauguration, which has been scheduled for October 20, 2024.

Related news: KPU to complete recapitulation of overseas votes on March 4
Related news: Presidential vote data from 64.8% polling stations on Sirekap: KPU
Related news: Bawaslu finds allegation of administrative violation by Islamabad PPLN

Translator: W.Irawan, Rahmad Nasution
Editor: Azis Kurmala
Copyright © ANTARA 2024