Jakarta (ANTARA) - Presidential candidate Prabowo Subianto and his running mate Gibran Rakabuming Raka have scored a landslide victory in South Papua with 162,852 valid votes, the General Elections Commission (KPU) announced at a plenary meeting here on Friday.

Meanwhile, Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD polled 110,003 votes, and Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar received 41,906 votes. The total number of voters going to polling stations was recorded at 320,386.

According to a member of the KPU-South Papua Office, Theresia Mahuze, who attended the KPU's plenary meeting, the total number of registered voters in the province's final voter list (DPT) was 367,269.

Of the number, only 306,486 registered voters went to polling stations on Election Day (February 14, 2024), she informed.

In addition to them, at least 2,471 voters registered in the additional voter list and 11,429 voters registered in the special voter list (DPK) also cast their votes on Election Day.

Indonesians have given their mandate. At least 1.7 million voters living abroad cast their votes for the General Elections before February 14, while more than 203 million voters residing in Indonesia flocked to polling stations on Election Day.

Voters living outside Indonesia cast their ballot at 828 polling stations through 1,580 mobile voting boxes and 651 postal services, while Indonesian residents voted at 820,161 polling stations.

On Election Day, polling stations at 84 electoral districts in 38 provinces remained open from 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. local time.

ANTARA reported earlier that the public will need to be patient to learn the legitimate results of the 2024 elections, as the outcome of the manual vote count will be announced by the KPU by March 20 at the latest.

No doubt, Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar, Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka, Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD, and their political coalitions are awaiting the moment of truth, too.

In the meantime, several pollsters' quick counts, broadcast on the country's national TV stations, have revealed favorable results for the Prabowo-Gibran pair.

After the official result of the KPU's final manual vote count is out, the winning candidate pair will need to wait for the presidential inauguration, which is scheduled to take place on October 20, 2024.

Related news: KPU targets completing recapitulation of domestic votes on March 18
Related news: Prabowo-Gibran pair secures majority of valid votes in East Java: KPU

Translator: Narda MS, Rahmad Nasution
Editor: Aditya Eko Sigit Wicaksono
Copyright © ANTARA 2024