Jakarta (ANTARA) - The Constitutional Court (MK) has summoned four cabinet ministers and the General Elections Organizer Honorary Council (DKPP) to present their testimonies before the election disputes hearing.

"We have sent our official letters of summon to those parties," the court's Administration and Secretariat Bureau Head, Fajar Laksono, stated here, on Tuesday (April 2).

Though not divulging who has confirmed their attendance, Laksono emphasized that parties summoned by the top court are obliged to be present.

"MK has summoned the parties appropriately, and those summoned should be present; their presence could not be represented by anyone else," the court official remarked.

The Constitutional Court earlier announced that four ministers of the Indonesia Maju Cabinet would be required to testify in the court hearing on election results disputes on April 5.

The court decided the ministers' testimonies are required on the election dispute adjudication.

"We wish to inform all parties that on Friday (April 5), we will summon other parties, whose testimonies the Constitutional Court believed are required," Chief Justice Suhartoyo stated at the court session on Monday (April 1).

The four ministers summoned by the top court are Coordinating Minister of Human Development and Cultural Affairs Muhadjir Effendy; Coordinating Minister of Economic Affairs Airlangga Hartarto; Finance Minister Sri Mulyani Indrawati; and Social Affairs Minister Tri Rismaharini.

Apart from the four ministers, the Constitutional Court also summoned the DKPP.

Suhartoyo explained that the decision to summon the ministers was the court's decision instead of accommodating requests from representatives of Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar and Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD as plaintiffs in the election disputes hearing.

"The judges decided that the parties' testimonies are important to be heard by the court, and we expect they can deliver it on Friday, April 5, 2024," Suhartoyo remarked.

Translator: Nadia Putri R, Nabil Ihsan
Editor: Aditya Eko Sigit Wicaksono
Copyright © ANTARA 2024