The recognition is important for the implementation of a two-state solution.​​​​​​​
Jakarta (ANTARA) - The Indonesian Government has welcomed the decision of Ireland, Spain, and Norway to officially recognize the Palestinian state.

"The recognition is important for the implementation of a two-state solution," the Indonesian Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in a written statement issued on Tuesday.

Foreign Minister Retno Marsudi conveyed Indonesia's appreciation of the recognition to Spanish Foreign Minister Jose Manuel Albares in Brussels, Belgium, on Sunday (May 26, 2024), during her visit to attend a meeting of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) and European countries to discuss the Palestinian issue.

Marsudi also met Irish Foreign Minister Micheal Martin and Norwegian Foreign Minister Espen Barth Eide on Monday (May 27) and expressed appreciation over their decision.

"Appreciating Norway's decision to recognize the Palestinian state, which is very important to support the Palestinian struggle & statehood," she said in a post on X.

Spain, Ireland, and Norway officially recognized the Palestinian state on Tuesday as part of an effort to speed up a ceasefire between Israel and the Palestinian group Hamas in the Gaza Strip.

The three countries have expressed the hope that their decision will encourage other European Union (EU) countries to do the same.

Related news: Indonesia urges European support for two-state solution

Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez said Madrid recognizes the unity of the Palestinian state, including the Gaza Strip and the West Bank, under the Palestinian National Authority, with East Jerusalem as its capital.

Ireland's Department of Foreign Affairs said that it will upgrade its representative office in Ramallah, West Bank, to an embassy and appoint an ambassador there.

With the recognition from the three European countries, 146 of the 193 UN member states now recognize the state of Palestine.

Of the 27 European Union member states, Sweden, Cyprus, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Poland, Slovakia, Romania, and Bulgaria have recognized the state of Palestine.

Slovenia is expected to recognize the Palestinian state on Thursday (May 30), while Malta said it is considering taking the same step.

Meanwhile, France is of the view that now is not the right time to recognize a Palestinian state.

However, Germany — just like its loyal ally, the United States — is still rejecting a unilateral approach and insisting that a two-state solution can only be achieved through dialogue.

Related news: Indonesia welcomes ICJ's order on Israel to halt Rafah offensive

Translator: Yashinta Difa Pramudyani, Katriana
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2024