Jakarta Popsivo Polwan wins Proliga 2012

Jakarta (ANTARA News) - Jakarta Popsivo Polwan women`s volley ball team won the Proliga 2012 championship after beating Jakarta Electric PLN 3-2 at Senayan Stadium here on Sunday.

With the victory Popsivo paid off its lost last year when it surrendered to the same rival 2-3 in the final.

This time Rita Kurniati and her fellows were able to defeat their opponents in five sets 25-20, 27-29, 25-15, 15-25 and 15-25 before around 8,000 spectators.

After the match captain Rita Kurniati admitted her team was heavily pressured in the early sets but in the last set it could play even relaxer.

She said the key to her team`s success in the last determining set was the team`s ability to play freely.

"Even in the fifth set we could play freely. We played like during practicing," she said.

Coach Anshori admitted that his players had been pressured from the first to fourth set.

"The pressure was indeed very heavy making some of our players almost suffered a cramp on their legs because their energy was totally spent," he said.

The team from Bontang Badak LNG meanwhile finished in third place defeating Jakarta TNI AU 3-1.

Popsivo Polwan team consists of Rita Kurniati, Shina Aini, Amalia Fajrina Nabila, Maya Kurnia Indrisari, Ayu Cahyaningsiam, Dhesy Saptiarini, dewi Wulan, Maya Napalina, Efa

Srisusilowati, Tasya Holnes, Jutarat Montriplla, Siska Putri, Nanditya Ayu Salsabila, Yigel Cabrcarerra and Sulistianti Samogoi. (*)