Jakarta (ANTARA News) - Chief of the Indonesian Supreme Court (MA) Hatta Ali installed new speaker and four deputy speakers of the Peoples Consultative Assembly (MPR) for the 2014-2019 period, here, early Wednesday.

"You are obliged to take the oath of office and vow in accordance with your religions, apply the Pancasila values, abide by the 1945 Constitution and its consequent Laws," Hatta Ali said.

Zulkifli Hasan, the current forestry minister and politician from the National Mandate Party (PAN), was elected new MPR speaker following a voting during the plenary meeting of the MPR.

The new four deputy speakers are Mahyuddin of Golkar Party, E.E Mangindaan of the Democratic Party (PD), Hidayat Nur Wahid of the Prosperous Justice Party (PKS), and Oesman Sapta Odang of the Regional Representative Council (DP).

New MPR Speaker Zulkifli Hasan in his first speech promised he would prioritize national interests above the interests of political parties Red and White Coalition that supported him.

"There is no more the agenda of Package A (Great Indonesia Coalition) nor Package B (Red and White Coalition). There is only (the agenda of) the Unitary State of the Republic of Indonesia (NKRI)," he said.

On October 20, the MPR speaker is scheduled to inaugurate new Indonesian President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) and Vice President M Jusuf Kalla.

"Lets make the inauguration a success, for the sake of the nation and NKRI," he stated.

The Red and White Coalition (KMP) led by former general Prabowo Subianto, was victorious again in the election for the MPR leaders, after a sweeping victory in earlier election for the parliamentary leaders.

The process of election from Tuesday night until early in the morning on Wednesday ended with the winning coalition was favored with 347 votes against the Great Indonesia Coalition supporting president elect Joko Widodo that garnered 330 votes.

Osman Sapta, the only candidate from DPD in the election, was named candidate for speaker by the defeated coalition, but he was also named one of the deputy speakers of the winning coalition.

MPR, which is one of the countrys highest institutions, is made up of the whole members of the Parliament and DPD with the authority to amend and make the Constitution.

Editor: Priyambodo RH
Copyright © ANTARA 2014