The government`s decision to extend the visa-free service to 30 more countries was a calculated move.
Jakarta (ANTARA News) - Indonesia will struggle to ensure that the newly proposed visa-free visit policy offered to 30 countries is implemented on a reciprocal basis, Foreign Affairs Minister Retno L. P. Marsudi said.

"It is true that the policy will not immediately be applicable on a reciprocal basis, but we will struggle to make it happen," Marsudi stated here on Wednesday.

She added that the governments decision to extend the visa-free service to 30 more countries was a calculated move. Precautions have been taken with regard to security to ensure that the policy does not backfire.

"I think the decision was made after preparations in terms of security were in place. The primary motive is to attract more foreign tourists," the minister remarked.

Indonesia will soon implement the visa-free policy for 45 countries in various continents. This policy is one of the programs designed as part of the first phase of the governments economic structural reform policy package.

Earlier, the government had proposed a visa-free policy for the four tourism markets of China, Japan, South Korea and Russia.

Later, the number was increased to 30 countries, which brought the total to 45 as previously, there were 15 old recipients. Nearly all American and European countries are included in the list of 30 countries to be offered the visa-free visit service.

Indonesia had previously provided free visa to Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei Darussalam, the Philippines, the Hong Kong Special Administration Region (Hong Kong SAR), the Macau Special Administration Region (Macau SAR), Chile, Morocco, Peru, Vietnam, Ecuador, Cambodia, Laos, and Myanmar.

Of the newly proposed 30 countries, the government mentioned 29, namely China, Japan, South Korea, the United States, Canada, New Zealand, Mexico, Russia, Britain, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Belgium, Sweden, Austria, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Poland, Hungary, Czech, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Oman, and South Africa.(*)

Editor: Heru Purwanto
Copyright © ANTARA 2015