Jakarta (ANTARA News) - The Terminal 3 of the Soekarno-Hatta International Airport will be ready to serve international flights of various airlines that are part of the Skyteam global alliance from June 2017.

"We are optimistic that the services offered at Terminal 3 to the airlines under the Skyteam alliance would run smoothly and successfully. Currently, not all Skyteam airlines operate from the Soekarno-Hatta Airport, but we are confident that in future, more airlines will fly to and from Jakarta," President Director of Angkasa Pura (AP) II Muhammad Awaluddin stated in a press release received by ANTARA here on Wednesday.

Since May 1, 2017, Garuda Indonesia, which is also part of Skyteam, had begun operating international flights from Terminal 3.

In addition to Garuda, other airlines part of the Skyteam alliance are Aeroflot, Aerolineas Argentinas, Aeromexico, Air Europa, Air France, Alitalia, China Airlines, Eastern China, China Southern, Czech Airlines, Delta Airlines, Kenya Airways, KLM, Korean Air, MEA, Saudia, Tarom, Vietnam Airlines, and Xiamen Air.

Garudas international flights available at Terminal 3 have been operating smoothly and successfully.

According to the road map, Terminal 3 will service all international flights at the Soekarno-Hatta Airport for Garuda Indonesia in May 2017; Skyteam airlines, in June 2017; and other airlines, by the end of 2017.

"In June, flights of the airlines incorporated in Skyteam will be available at the Terminal 3, so it will help to reduce flight congestion in other terminals," Awaluddin explained.

Speaking in connection with Skytrain, AP II expects the unmanned train to begin operations in July 2017.

"AP II is also building a Skytrain that can be operated in July this year, with the hope that the airport train can also start serving from that month," he stated.

He explained that at the moment, the construction of the airport train station is almost complete, while Railink will serve as the airport train operator.(*)

Editor: Heru Purwanto
Copyright © ANTARA 2017