Asian Games torch relay proceeds to Mt Bromo

Asian Games torch relay proceeds to Mt Bromo

Badminton Susi Susanti (center) lid a caldron with the Asian Games torch flame during the torch relay in Mt Bromo, East Java, on Saturday (21/7/2018). (ANTARA /Zabur Karuru)

Malang, E Java,  (ANTARA News) - The 2018 Asian Games Torch Relay proceeded to Mt Bromo after being kept for a night in Malang on Thursday morning.

The torch arrived late in Malang and was received by Chief of Staff of the Indonesian Navy Admiral Siswi Sukma Adji, who later handed over the torch to acting Mayor of Malang Sutiaji at the city hall.

The mayor noted that Malang`s residents should feel proud that their city has been selected as one of the 53 cities and districts to be covered by the torch.

Themed "Energy of Asia," the Asian Games should be able to encourage Indonesia`s athletes to do and achieve the best, he emphasized.

Before arriving in Malang, the torch toured Blitar in East Java, Semarang and Solo in Central Java, and Yogyakarta.

The 18th Asian Games torch relay is expected to cover 53 cities and districts in 18 Indonesian provinces.

The 2018 Asian Games torch relay began its 18 thousand-kilometer journey on July 15, 2018, from the Major Dyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi, where the flame was lit for the first time at the inaugural edition in 1951.

In India, the flame was generated from a parabolic mirror directed straight at the sun.

On the evening of July 18, the flame from India was merged with the eternal flame from Mrapen at the Pramanan Temple.

The national torch relay of the largest multi-sport event, held every four years in Asia, began from Yogyakarta on July 18 and will end on Aug 17 in Jakarta, a day before the Asian Games 2018 to be officially opened by President Joko Widodo.

The torch relay will also pass through Probolinggo and Banyuwangi in East Java; Gilimanuk, Kuta, and Denpasar in Bali Province; Mataram in West Nusa Tenggara; Raja Ampat and Sorong in West Papua; Makassar in South Sulawesi; Banjarmasin in South Kalimantan; Banda Aceh in Aceh Province; Lake Toba in North Sumatra; Pekanbaru in Riau; Bukit Tinggi in West Sumatra; Jambi, Palembang, Banyuasin, and Prabumulih in South Sumatra; Bandar Lampung in Lampung; Serang in Banten; and Purwakarta, Bandung, Garut, Cianjur, and Bogor in West Java Province, among others.
Reported by Endang S
(T.SYS/A/KR-BSR/C/O001) 21-07-2018 12:42:44