Jakarta (ANTARA News) - Indonesia`s three national parks -- Berbak Sembilang in South Sumatra and Jambi, Betung Kerihun Danau Sentarum in West Kalimantan, and Rinjani in West Nusa Tenggara -- have been officially listed in the UNESCO Biosphere Reserves.

The three parks were selected at the 30th International Coordinating Council of the Man and Biosphere Programme (ICC-MAB) held in Palembang on Wednesday (July 25).

At the hearing, the Indonesian delegation was led by Permanent Delegate of Indonesia to UNESCO Ambassador Hotmangaradja Pandjaitan, who was accompanied by officials from the Environment and Forestry Ministry, Indonesian Institute of Sciences, Foreign Affairs Ministry, and the Indonesian Embassy in Paris, according to a press release received on Thursday.

The sessions, held on July 23-28, 2018, were attended by 401 delegates from 50 countries.

At the opening of the hearing, Ambassador Pandjaitan conveyed the Indonesian position and commitment regarding biosphere conservation, in which Indonesia has integrated the Man and Biosphere (MAB) Action Plan into the national program. Indonesia will also continue to develop new biosphere reserves.

Meanwhile, members of the International Coordinating Council (ICC) of MAB UNESCO unanimously approved Indonesia as chairman of the ICC MAB for the 2018-2020 period. The Indonesian government has appointed Prof. Enny Sudarmonowati, LIPI deputy of life sciences, as a representative of Indonesia`s chairmanship in the ICC MAB for the next two years.

The MAB program has been initiated since 1971 as a scientific forum to promote environmental conservation, biodiversity, and sustainable development.

The MAB seeks to combine environmental aspects with social, economic, and education, so that the livelihoods and welfare of the people can be balanced and safe in line with the ecosystem of the environment.

There are currently nearly 700 biosphere reserves in 120 countries, with 14 in Indonesia.

Reporting Yuni Arisandy
Editing by Yashinta Difa Pramudyani

Reporter: Antara
Editor: Otniel Tamindael
Copyright © ANTARA 2018