Banjarmasin, S Kalimantan (ANTARA News) - The Asian Games 2018 torch arrived in the South Kalimantan provincial capital of Banjarmasin, from Makassar, South Sulawesi, Monday, as part of the over 18 thousand-km relay touring 53 cities and districts in 18 provinces.

The aircraft carrying the torch landed at the Syamsudin Noor Airport in Banjarbaru, South Kalimantan, at 8:45 a.m. local time.

Banjarmasu Mayor Nadjmi Andhani greeted the arrival of the torch of the Asian Games held every four years.

From Banjarbaru, the relay proceeded to Banjarmasin by a car. Thousands of elementary school students greeted the torch on its way to Banjarmasin, which is 25 kilometers from the Banjarbaru airport.

In Banjarmasin, the torch was received by South Kalimantan Governor Sahbirin Noor.

A total of 16,920 athletes and officials from 45 Asian countries have been registered for the Games. Overall, more than 11 thousand athletes will vie for medals in 40 sports and 67 disciplines.

The torch relay began in Yogyakarta on July 17 and will end on Aug 17 in Jakarta, a day before the Asian Games 2018 is officially opened by President Joko Widodo.

The torch`s route includes Solo, Central Java Province; Blitar, Malang, Probolinggo, and Banyuwangi in East Java; Gilimanuk, Kuta, and Denpasar in Bali Province; Mataram in West Nusa Tenggara; Raja Ampat and Sorong in West Papua; Makassar in South Sulawesi; Banjarmasin in South Kalimantan; Banda Aceh in Aceh Province; Lake Toba in North Sumatra; Pekanbaru in Riau; Bukit Tinggi in West Sumatra; Jambi, Palembang, Banyuasin, and Prabumulih in South Sumatra; Bandar Lampung in Lampung; Serang in Banten; and Purwakarta, Bandung, Garut, Cianjur, and Bogor in West Java.

The 18th Asian Games will be co-hosted by Jakarta and Palembang, South Sumatra Province, from August 18 to September 2, 2018.

Reported by Jose Rizal
Editing by Fardah

Reporter: Antara
Editor: Otniel Tamindael
Copyright © ANTARA 2018