House rejects four candidates for chief justice

House rejects four candidates for chief justice

The House Commission III rejected all of the candidates
Jakarta (ANTARA) -
The House of Representatives (DPR) Commission III rejected four candidates proposed by the Judicial Commission for chief justice during a plenary session held in Jakarta on Tuesday.

During the session, led by Chief of the House Commission III Kahar Muzakir, seven factions in the DPR rejected all the candidates, two factions accepted one of the candidates, while one faction accepted all the candidates.  

"The House Commission III rejected all of them," Muzakir said in the meeting, after hearing the factions' views.

According to Deputy Chairman of the House III Erma Suryani Ranik, the seven factions which rejected all the candidates were the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDIP), United Development Party (PPP,) National Mandate Party (PAN), Justice and Prosperous Party (PKS), Democrat Party, National Democratic (Nasdem) Party and the Greater Indonesia Movement (Gerindra) Party factions.

The factions that accepted all the candidates are the National Awakening Party (PKB) faction, while the Golkar Party and People's Conscience (Hanura) Party factions only accepted one of the four candidates.

Erma said the House Commission III was disappointed by the candidates nominated for chief justice, based upon the results of a fit and proper test of them conducted on Monday (May 20).

The four candidates for chief justice were Cholidul Azhar, Sartono, Matheus Samiaji and Ridwan Mansyur.