Gunung Kidul, Yogyakarta (ANTARA) - Ten sub-districts in Gunung Kidul District, Yogyakarta special autonomous region, are currently being hit by severe drought.

The ten affected sub-districts were Girisubo, Rongkop, Purwosari, Tepus, Ngawen, Ponjong, Semin, Patuk, Semanu, and Paliyan, Edi Basuki, head of the Gunung Kidul disaster mitigation office (BPBD), said here, on Sunday.

"Of the ten drought-affected sub-districts, Paliyan, Girisubo and Rongkop are the worst affected ones. We have distributed clean water to those three sub-districts since June 1," he said.

The local authorities have anticipated clean water shortages during the current dry season.

Girisubo, Tepus, Rongkop, Panggang, Purwosari, Patuk, and Semin often face water crisis when drought occurs, he said.

The Gunung Kidul has allocated a budget amounting to Rp500 million for clean water supply and deployed seven water tank trucks to deal with water crisis during the dry season this year, according to him

Translator: Sutarmi, Fardah
Editor: Bambang Purwanto
Copyright © ANTARA 2019