The inauguration meeting was led by the oldest member, 80-year-old Abdul Wahab Dalimunthe from Democratic Party and the youngest, 23-year-old Hillary Brigitta Lasut from National Democratic Party (Nasdem Party).
Jakarta (ANTARA) - Members of the House of Representatives of the Republic of Indonesia (DPR), due to serve for the 2019-2024 term, were officially inaugurated at the Nusantara Building, DPR Parliamentary Complex Senayan, Jakarta, on Tuesday.

The inauguration was led by the oldest member, Abdul Wahab Dalimunthe, 80, from the Democratic Party, and the youngest, Hillary Brigitta Lasut, 23, from the National Democratic Party (Nasdem Party).

During the same event, 575 DPR members, of which 289 members, or over a half being incumbents, were sworn in under the guidance of Supreme Court Chief Justice Muhammad Hatta Ali.

The ceremony also entailed the inauguration of new members of the People's Consultative Assembly (MPR) and Regional Representatives Council (DPD).

Some government officials attending the ceremonial inauguration comprised current President Joko Widodo and Vice President Jusuf Kalla as well as newly elected Vice President Ma'ruf Amin.

Regional leaders also present were Sultan Hamengku Buwono X as Yogyakarta governor and Anies Baswedan as Jakarta governor. Related news: Members of DPR, MPR, DPD for 2019-2024 period inaugurated

Related news: House to approve new KPK leaders at Monday's plenary session

Related news: Jokowi wears traditional Sasak clothes at DPR, DPD 2019 annual session


Translator: Zuhdiar Laeis / Suwanti
Editor: Fardah Assegaf
Copyright © ANTARA 2019