I want us to emerge as the top two at the Philippines 30th SEA Games
Manila, Philippines (ANTARA) - Indonesia's national team secured three gold, three silver, and three bronze medals on day five of the 2019 Southeast Asia (SEA) Games multisport competition, outperforming Singapore and Malaysia and ranking third in the medal tally.

The team's two gold medals were pocketed by Dea Salsabila Putri in the Women’s Beach Laser Run event of the Modern Pentathlon competition and Muhammad Taufikrom in the Men’s Beach Laser Run event of the Modern Pentathlon competition. In the meantime, another gold medal was also clinched by Suci Wulandari in the Pencak Silat-Women’s Class A category.

With the addition of more medals, Indonesia's national team has temporarily accrued 23 gold medals, 30 silver medals, and 32 bronze medals, followed by Malaysia coming fourth, with 22 gold medals, 12 silvers, and 23 bronze medals, while Singapore was toppled over at fifth ranking, with 19 gold medals, 14 silver medals, and 25 bronze medals.

Related news: SEA Games - Women's soccer team eyes victory against Thailand

Host country Philippines reigned supreme at the top of the medal tally, with 57 gold medals, 43 silver medals, and 24 bronze medals, followed by Vietnam in the runner-up position, with 28 gold medals, 33 silver medals, and 36 bronze medals.

Last month, Indonesia's President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) had called on the athletes to secure a second-best medal tally for the country in the multi-sport event held from November 30 to December 11. "I want us to emerge as the top two at the Philippines 30th SEA Games," Jokowi had emphasized in his speech delivered at a ceremony held to see off the Indonesian contingent at the Presidential Palace in Bogor, West Java.

Mentioned herewith is the list of Indonesia's medal tally on the fifth day of the 2019 SEA Games:

Gold medal:

1. Modern Pentathlon-Women’s Beach Laser Run (Dea Salsabila Putri);
2. Modern Pentathlon-Men’s Beach Laser Run (Muhammad Taufik);
3. Pencak Silat-Women’s Class A (Suci Wulandari);
4. Shooting-Mixed 10 m Air Rifle (Fathur Gusrian and Vidya Rafika);
5. Shooting-Mixed Benchrest Air Rifle - Heavy Varmint (Fafan Khairul Anwar);
6. Cycling Road Race-Men’s ITT (Aiman Cahyadi).

Silver medal:

1. Pencak Silat-Men’s Class A (Khoirudin Mustakim);
2. Pencak Silat-Women’s Class B (Jeni Elvis Kause);
3. Pencak Silat-Men’s Class D (Hanifan Yudani Kusumah).

Bronze medal:

1. Pencak Silat-Men’s Class B (Hidayat Limonu);
2. Shooting-Mixed Benchrest Air Rifle - Heavy Varmint (Anang Satrio Wibowo);
3. Underwater Hockey-Women’s Team (Syifa Amelia Nuraini, et al).

Related news: Government offers Rp200-million bonus for each SEA Games gold medalist

Translator: Bayu Kuncahyo/Genta Tenri Mawa
Editor: Rahmad Nasution
Copyright © ANTARA 2019