Jayapura, Papua (ANTARA) - Papua officially handed over the PON baton to Aceh and North Sumatra, who will host the largest sporting event in the country in 2024.

At Lukas Enembe Stadium, Jayapura district on Friday night, the patriotic song Bagimu Negeri was played as the PON flag was lowered, marking the end of PON Papua.

Then, Papua Governor Lukas Enembe and daily chairman of Papua PON management, Yunus Wonda, returned the PON flag to the Central National Sports Committee (KONI) chairman Marciano Norman.

In turn, Norman handed over the PON flag to representatives of Aceh and North Sumatra, who will host the 2024 PON.

Norman first handed over the PON flag to the regional secretary of Aceh Taqwallah, who represented the Governor of Aceh, Ir. H. Nova Iriansyah.

Next, he gave the PON host baton to the Governor of North Sumatra, Edy Rahmayadi.

Related news: Papua Governor Enembe bids adieu to PON

After the PON flag handover, Aceh artistes performed the Ratoh Duek dance, while North Sumatra artistes performed the traditional dances of Nias, Karo, and Toba.

In 2024, for the first time, PON will be held in two provinces, as stipulated in the decree of the Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs No. 71 of 2020 concerning the determination of the Aceh provincial government and the Government of North Sumatra as the hosts of the XXI PON National Sports Week in 2024.

At this year's PON at Papua, the West Java contingent retained its general champion title by collecting 133 gold, 105 silver, and 115 bronze medals.

The Jakarta contingent ranked second with 110 golds, 91 silvers, and 100 bronzes. Meanwhile, the East Java team came third with 110 golds, 89 silvers, and 88 bronzes.

Furthermore, Papua, the home team, collected 93 gold medals, 66 silver medals, and 102 bronze medals to rank fourth.

Vice President Ma'ruf Amin also attended the closing ceremony of PON Papua, a 7 p.m. Eastern Indonesia Standard Time on Friday.

Related news: West Java retains title of champion of XX Papua PON

Translator: M Ramdan, Kenzu T
Editor: Suharto
Copyright © ANTARA 2021